Efficiency Rules at Conestoga Meat Packers

With more than 20 years in the food production business, Arnold Drung keeps an eye out for efficiency.

Arnold Drung
President, Conestoga Meat Packers, Woolich, Ontario

Our FCC Senior Relationship Manager is service-oriented. We consider him to be part of the team.

As President of Conestoga Meat Packers, he’s constantly looking for the best return on investment.

“The key to efficiency is getting maximum yield from our inputs. Then you need to sell to the best customer that you can find, the one who’ll give you the best price for the commodity,” Arnold explains. “The export market is vital. We sell product to whatever part of the world that provides the best returns.”

To supply its customers throughout Canada and around the world, Conestoga relies on its 350 employees to process 14,000 hogs per week. The operation’s 150 farmer owners are also its key suppliers.

The co-operative structure allows Conestoga to control supply, production and distribution. With its own fleet of refrigerated tractor-trailers, Conestoga can get the finished product where it needs to be. “You always have to move quickly in this business,” Arnold adds.

When it came time to make additions to the business, Arnold says working with FCC for the capital financing was just a natural fit.

“We already have an excellent team in place with people who really know about the meat business. A lot of our farmer members had experience working with FCC in their personal business and FCC has an understanding of the commodity sector.”

In particular, Conestoga was interested in the flexibility of terms and amortization that FCC could offer.

“Our financing with FCC is just right for our business,” Arnold says. “Like other exporters, we’re challenged by the appreciation of the Canadian dollar. That’s why we want financing with flexible terms. Fortunately, our FCC Senior Relationship Manager is service-oriented. We consider him to be part of the team.”

L’efficience règne chez Conestoga Meat Packers

Possédant plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans la production alimentaire, Arnold Drung cherche des occasions d’améliorer l'efficience.

Arnold Drung
Président de Conestoga Meat Packers à Breslau en Ontario

Notre directeur des relations d’affaires principal de FAC a à cœur le service à la clientèle. Nous considérons qu’il fait partie de notre équipe.

« L’efficience est la clé pour obtenir le meilleur rendement de nos intrants. Ensuite, nous devons trouver les meilleurs clients possibles, ceux qui nous donneront les meilleurs prix pour nos produits, explique M. Drung. Le marché de l’exportation est essentiel. Nous vendons des produits à toute partie du monde qui nous donnera le meilleur rendement. »

Pour approvisionner ses clients des quatre coins du Canada et du globe, Conestoga compte sur 350 employés pour transformer 14 000 porcs par semaine. Les 150 exploitants agricoles propriétaires de l’entreprise sont également ses fournisseurs clés.

La structure de coopérative permet à Conestoga de contrôler l’offre, la production et la distribution. Avec sa propre flotte de semi-remorques frigorifiques, Conestoga peut fournir le produit fini là où il doit se rendre. « On doit toujours bouger rapidement dans cette industrie », ajoute M. Drung.

Quand le moment est venu d’injecter des actifs dans l’entreprise, M. Drung dit qu’il lui a semblé tout à fait naturel de se tourner vers FAC pour le financement.

« Nous avons déjà une excellente équipe en place qui connaît bien l’industrie de la viande. Beaucoup de nos membres exploitants agricoles avaient déjà fait affaire avec FAC pour leur propre exploitation; FAC comprend bien le secteur des produits de base. »

Conestoga était particulièrement intéressée par la souplesse des termes et de l’amortissement que FAC peut offrir.

« Le financement que nous procure FAC est tout simplement parfait pour notre entreprise, affirme M. Drung. Comme pour d’autres exportateurs, la hausse du dollar canadien constitue un défi pour nous. Voilà pourquoi nous voulons du financement dont les termes sont souples. Heureusement, notre directeur des relations d’affaires principal de FAC a à cœur le service à la clientèle. Nous considérons qu’il fait partie de notre équipe. »