Ontario works to crack open hazelnut industry

In the past five years, 20 per cent of Ontario farmers surveyed say they've given new crops a whirl – hazelnuts, bok choy, buckwheat and quinoa, among them. And following a recent funding announcement, hazelnuts could take on even more prominence on southern Ontario farmscapes.

The federal government is dedicating nearly $500,000 to help further develop a hazelnut industry in Ontario, along with the University of Guelph, the Ontario Hazelnut Association and manufacturer Ferrero Canada.

Orchard management

With this funding, researchers will engage in orchard management techniques for drought stress in nursery trees, and establish production techniques to multiply hazelnut plants for commercial use.

"This new crop has enormous potential for Ontario, and this support has brought us much closer to realizing our goal of establishing 10,000 hectares in the province by 2027 and creating new economic opportunities for rural communities," says association chair Linda Grimo, whose family owns Grimo Nut Nursery near Niagara-On-The-Lake. In Ontario, about 500 acres of hazelnuts are currently in production.

For nearly a decade, the Simcoe Research Station and the university's main campus have been the site of a broad spectrum of hazelnut studies, including winter hardiness, disease resistance and rapid propagation.  

Benefits of diversity

The association says the benefits of hazelnut production start on the farm with greater opportunities for producers to diversify. But they extend beyond the farm, particularly to the city of Brantford where Ferrero opened a modern manufacturing plant in 2006, catalyzing the growth of the domestic hazelnut industry.

The recent funding announcement is the latest in the ongoing development of the industry in Ontario. Earlier this month, the province announced it was investing $11 million in the Brantford plant to boost productivity and create 80 new jobs.

In Canada, British Columbia has traditionally been the leading hazelnut producer. But a deadly blight has devastated the industry there. Producers hope research will lead to blight-resistant varieties, a pursuit that is underway in labs and field plots.

Bottom line

Federal funding to the Ontarian hazelnut industry poises the sector for growth.

Article by: Owen Roberts

Coup de pouce à l’industrie de la noisette de l’Ontario

Au cours des cinq dernières années, 20 % des agriculteurs de l’Ontario interrogés ont dit avoir essayé de nouvelles cultures, notamment les noisettes, le pak-choï, le sarrasin et le quinoa. Et par suite d’une récente annonce de financement, les noisettes pourraient gagner encore plus de terrain dans le paysage agricole du Sud de l’Ontario.

Le gouvernement fédéral versera une contribution de près de 500 000 $ pour aider à développer l’industrie de la noisette en Ontario, en collaboration avec l’Université de Guelph, la Ontario Hazelnut Association et le fabricant Ferrero Canada.

Gestion de verger

Grâce à cette aide financière, des chercheurs mettront au point des techniques de gestion des vergers visant à atténuer le stress causé par la sécheresse chez les arbres de pépinière, et établiront des techniques de production qui permettront de multiplier les plants de noisetier à des fins commerciales.

« Cette nouvelle culture présente des possibilités très intéressantes pour l’Ontario, et cette aide financière nous rapproche de notre but, qui consiste à cultiver 10 000 hectares dans la province d’ici 2027 et à créer de nouveaux débouchés pour les collectivités rurales », déclare la présidente de la Ontario Hazelnut Association, Linda Grimo, dont la famille est propriétaire de la pépinière Grimo Nut Nursery près de Niagara-On-The-Lake. À l’heure actuelle, l’Ontario compte environ 500 acres consacrés à la production de noisettes.

Depuis près d’une décennie, de vastes études sur les noisettes sont menées à la station de recherche de Simcoe et sur le campus principal de Guelph. Les aspects étudiés comprennent la résistance au froid, la résistance aux maladies et la multiplication rapide.

Les avantages de la diversité

L’association indique que la production de noisettes est un atout principalement pour les fermes, qui profitent de nouvelles possibilités de diversification. En dehors des fermes, la production de noisettes représente un atout considérable pour la municipalité de Brantford, où Ferrero a ouvert une usine moderne de transformation en 2006, ce qui a propulsé la croissance de l’industrie nationale des noisettes.

La récente annonce de financement est la dernière du cycle actuel de développement de l’industrie de la noisette en Ontario. Vers le début du mois, la province a annoncé un investissement de 11 millions de dollars dans l’usine de Brantford afin de stimuler la productivité et de créer 80 nouveaux emplois.

Au Canada, la Colombie-Britannique a toujours été le chef de file de la production de noisettes. Toutefois, une maladie mortelle, la brûlure orientale du noisetier, a dévasté l’industrie de cette province. Les producteurs espèrent que les recherches conduiront à la mise au point de variétés résistantes à la brûlure, objectif qui fait l’objet de travaux en laboratoire et dans des parcelles d’essai.

En conclusion

Grâce à l’aide financière du gouvernement fédéral, l’industrie ontarienne de la noisette est vouée à la croissance.

Article par : Owen Roberts