New papers connect agri-food value chain to rural development

The value chain that serves and includes primary producers must be strong if the sector as a whole is to succeed. With that in mind, the Rural Ontario Institute has produced a collection it calls the Rural Ontario Foresight Papers. They explore particular topics that reflect the challenges and opportunities for rural and northern Ontario.

The papers, written by expert authors, cover place-specific policy, the impact of megatrends on rural development, broadband infrastructure, rural business succession, volunteerism and the visitor economy, which is about drawing visitors to rural amenities.

The papers look towards directions various stakeholders, governments or non-profits might follow to foster rural development, in light of the trends and opportunities the authors foresee. The institute chose the topics based on consultations with its stakeholders, which include farmers.

Basic rural framework required

“Farmers need a basic rural framework in place so they have schools their kids can attend, a workforce to draw from and other necessities that serve the agri-food value chain,” says Norman Ragetlie, the institute’s director of policy and stakeholder engagement.

One paper by author David Freshwater, called Growth Beyond Cities: Place-Based Rural Development Policy in Ontario, has caught the attention of the Ontario Federation of Agriculture. 

In the paper, Freshwater notes the sheer size and diversity of rural Ontario means that for any policy to be effective, the province has to deal with various rural circumstances in different ways. 

Economic development benefits for all

So called one-size-fits-all policies are no longer effective, he says. Rather, clear economic development opportunities exist in rural Ontario that could benefit both the people living in these areas and the province collectively. 

 “To realize these opportunities will require the introduction of a policy framework that supports local rural development initiatives,” Freshwater says, adding that in this regard, Ontario is similar to other countries in the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development where there are similar ongoing challenges in identifying appropriate policies to support rural growth.

Another paper about broadband infrastructure, by Catherine Middleton, argues that modern agribusiness needs access to high-speed Internet, just like urban businesses do. The same goes for on-farm businesses, which are disadvantaged because of slow Internet speed and spotty coverage. Likewise, farmers engaged in innovative production approaches - precision agriculture and advanced data aggregation, for example - require better bandwidth than most of them have access to now.    

Two other papers are particularly pertinent to farmers.

Rural succession plans needed

In one paper, Rural Business Succession: Innovation Opportunities to Revitalize Local Communities, author Paul Chamberlain notes how many rural businesses do not have succession plans. If they simply close down their operations once the owners retire, there’ll be a void in the farm community that depends on them.

And in the paper “The Visitor Economy and Rural Cultural Amenities” author Christopher Fullerton notes the growing interest in rural tourism experiences based on agriculture such as food trails, farmers’ markets, on-farm bed and breakfasts and culinary tourism. These activities have flourished and become a cultural phenomenon, but they’ll require support and policies to endure.

OFA president Keith Currie has praised the institute’s effort to raise rural issues in this way. He says the federation “was pleased to see these papers underscore the importance of our rural communities.”

The papers can be viewed at ruralontarioinstitute.ca/foresightpapers

Bottom line

Strong rural economic development policies are key to revitalizing communities, but gone are the days of one-size-fits-all plans. 

Article by: Owen Roberts

De nouveaux articles établissent le lien entre la chaîne de valeur agroalimentaire et le développement rural

La prospérité du secteur agroalimentaire dépend de la solidité de la chaîne de valeur qui sert et englobe les producteurs primaires. Dans cet esprit, le Rural Ontario Institute a produit une série d’articles intitulée Rural Ontario Foresight Papers. Ces articles traitent de sujets qui illustrent les défis et les possibilités des régions rurales et du Nord de l’Ontario.

Rédigés par des experts, les articles portent sur les politiques adaptées au milieu, les répercussions des grandes tendances sur le développement rural, l’infrastructure large bande, la relève des entreprises en milieu rural, le bénévolat et l’économie touristique, qui repose sur l’intérêt des visiteurs suscité par les agréments de la campagne.

Les articles examinent les orientations que divers intervenants, les gouvernements ou les organismes sans but lucratif peuvent suivre pour favoriser le développement rural, à la lumière des tendances et des possibilités qu’entrevoient les auteurs. L’institut a choisi ces sujets en s’appuyant sur des consultations avec ses intervenants, notamment des agriculteurs.

Cadre de base pour les milieux ruraux

« Les agriculteurs ont besoin qu’un cadre de base soit mis en place pour que leurs enfants aient accès à des écoles, pour créer un bassin de main-d’œuvre et pour satisfaire à d’autres nécessités de la chaîne de valeur agroalimentaire », fait valoir Norman Ragetlie, directeur des politiques et de l’engagement des intervenants de l’institut.

Un article de David Freshwater, intitulé Growth Beyond Cities: Place-Based Rural Development Policy in Ontario, a capté l’attention de la Fédération de l’agriculture de l’Ontario (FAO).

Dans cet article, M. Freshwater souligne qu’en raison de la taille même et de la diversité du milieu rural de l’Ontario, la province doit composer avec diverses réalités rurales, et ce, de différentes manières, pour qu’une politique soit efficace.

Développement économique avantageux pour tous

Les politiques dites « universelles » ne fonctionnent plus, poursuit-il. En fait, il existe dans les régions rurales de l’Ontario des possibilités de développement économique concrètes qui pourraient avantager à la fois les habitants de ces régions et l’ensemble des Ontariens.

« Pour exploiter ces possibilités, nous devons établir un cadre stratégique qui favorise les initiatives de développement rural à l’échelle locale », plaide M. Freshwater. À cet égard, ajoute-t-il, l’Ontario se compare à d’autres pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques qui éprouvent des difficultés semblables à déterminer des politiques appropriées pour soutenir la croissance des régions rurales.

Dans un article sur l’infrastructure large bande, Catherine Middleton explique que les entreprises agricoles modernes ont besoin d’Internet haute vitesse au même titre que les entreprises des villes. Il en va de même des entreprises à la ferme, qui sont désavantagées en raison de la lenteur de la connexion Internet et de la couverture inégale. De la même façon, les producteurs qui adoptent des stratégies de production novatrices, comme l’agriculture de précision et le regroupement avancé de données, ont besoin d’une meilleure bande passante que celle dont ils disposent de façon générale.

Deux autres articles sont particulièrement pertinents pour les agriculteurs.

La nécessité d’un plan de relève pour les entreprises en milieu rural

Dans un de ces articles, intitulé Rural Business Succession: Innovation Opportunities to Revitalize Local Communities, l’auteur Paul Chamberlain fait état du nombre d’entreprises en milieu rural qui n’ont pas de plan de relève. Si elles cessent simplement leurs activités une fois que les propriétaires prennent leur retraite, ces entreprises laissent un vide dans les collectivités agricoles qui dépendent d’elles.

Dans l’article intitulé The Visitor Economy and Rural Cultural Amenities, l’auteur Christopher Fullerton souligne l’intérêt croissant que suscitent les expériences touristiques liées à l’agriculture dans les régions rurales, comme les routes de la gastronomie, les marchés de producteurs, les gîtes touristiques à la ferme et le tourisme culinaire. Ces activités prolifèrent et sont en train de devenir un phénomène culturel, mais nous devrons les soutenir et adopter des politiques pour qu’elles durent.

Le président de la FAO, Keith Currie, félicite les efforts déployés par l’institut pour présenter les enjeux agricoles sous cet angle. Il affirme que la fédération « salue la manière dont ces articles dépeignent l’importance de nos collectivités rurales ».

Les articles sont accessibles à l’adresse ruralontarioinstitute.ca/foresightpapers (en anglais seulement).

En conclusion

Des politiques vigoureuses de développement économique rural sont indispensables pour redynamiser les collectivités, mais nous ne pouvons plus compter sur des solutions toutes faites.

Article par : Owen Roberts