New initiative has Ontario foodservice thinking local

Six farm groups are working with a foodservice distributor to help food industry companies promote local fare.

Gordon Food Service of Milton, Ont., a North American foodservice distributor, launched the Ontario Ingredients for Success project last fall with the participating farm groups. They are: Mushrooms Canada, Grain Farmers of Ontario, Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers, Turkey Farmers of Ontario, Egg Farmers of Ontario and Dairy Farmers of Ontario.

This unique project is believed to the first of its kind in Canada, says Peter Henderson, president of Ideovation, the company that helped Gordon Food Service put the initiative together. The project is funded in part by the Greenbelt Fund, a non-profit organization in Ontario that supports the viability, integrity and sustainability of agriculture.

Boosting awareness

The initiative, designed to make it easier to promote local ingredients on menus in Ontario, is projected to increase Ontario food sales by $5 million. It included three symposiums to gather information and provide networking opportunities for foodservice operators, farm organizations and processors.

Henderson says the project is helping increase the level of awareness and dialogue among food industry stakeholders “around the value and the depth and breadth of Ontario ingredients.”

Project’s value

Mushrooms Canada project co-ordinator Marianne Muth says the project helps them learn about companies in the food service sector. 

It also helps Mushrooms Canada introduce its blend and extend campaign. Blend and extend is combining finely chopped mushrooms into ground meat to cut calories in a dish, add a serving of vegetables, enhance flavour and add nutrition.

“The blend concept has been very popular in the United States,” she says. “It’s something that’s really just beginning here.”

Mushrooms Canada’s promotional efforts are focused mainly on contacting consumers directly. The Ontario Ingredients for Success project “is a great way for us to get to know some of the other folks in the food industry,” Muth says.

Connecting with buyers

Turkey Farmers of Ontario’s foodservice specialist Stacy Butler says connecting with foodservice businesses “to assist them in promoting local turkey” is one definite benefits of the project’s for her organization.

Through the program and “the events we attended, we were able to showcase fresh turkey and reach through to other suppliers and vendors and talk to end users,” such as hospital groups, universities and contract caterers, she says.

Foodservice firms and other companies “will use this program to find information on local turkey products and what’s available,” Butler says, adding she helps them with their promotions of the local product.

Bottom line

Farm groups are talking directly to foodservice and other companies interested in promoting local ingredients as part of a unique project.

Article by: Susan Mann

Nouvelle initiative de promotion des ingrédients locaux en Ontario

Six associations agricoles font équipe avec un distributeur de services alimentaires pour aider les entreprises du secteur de l’alimentation à promouvoir l’achat local.

L’entreprise Service alimentaire Gordon de Milton, en Ontario - un distributeur de services alimentaires à l’échelle de l’Amérique du Nord - a lancé l’automne dernier la campagne Ontario Ingredients for Success en collaboration avec les associations agricoles participantes, soit Mushrooms Canada (anglais seulement), Grain Farmers of Ontario (anglais seulement), Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers (anglais seulement), Turkey Farmers of Ontario (anglais seulement), Egg Farmers of Ontario (anglais seulement) et Dairy Farmers of Ontario (anglais seulement).

Ce projet unique serait le premier du genre au Canada, selon Peter Henderson, président d’Ideovation (anglais seulement), l’entreprise qui a aidé Service alimentaire Gordon à ficeler cette initiative. Ce projet est financé en partie par le Greenbelt Fund, un organisme sans but lucratif de l’Ontario qui œuvre au service de la viabilité, de l’intégrité et de la durabilité de l’agriculture.

Accroître la sensibilisation

L’initiative, qui vise à faciliter la promotion des ingrédients locaux dans les menus de l’Ontario, devrait faire augmenter les ventes d’aliments de l’Ontario de 5 millions de dollars. Elle comporte, notamment, trois symposiums qui permettront de recueillir de l’information et d’offrir des possibilités de réseautage aux fournisseurs de services alimentaires, aux associations agricoles et aux transformateurs.

M. Henderson affirme que ce projet contribue à accroître la sensibilisation et à stimuler le dialogue entre les intervenants de l’industrie alimentaire « au sujet de la valeur et de la formidable diversité des ingrédients ontariens ».

L’apport du projet

Marianne Muth, coordonnatrice de projet de Mushrooms Canada, indique que la campagne permet aux membres de son association d’en apprendre au sujet des entreprises du secteur des services alimentaires.

Elle aide aussi Mushrooms Canada à introduire sa campagne Blend and Extend, qui encourage le mélange de champignons hachés finement dans la viande hachée pour réduire le nombre de calories d’un plat, y ajouter une portion de légumes, en rehausser le goût et en améliorer la valeur nutritive.

« Ce type de mélange est très en vogue aux États-Unis, dit-elle, mais on commence à peine à en entendre parler ici. »

Les efforts de promotion déployés par Mushrooms Canada sont axés principalement sur le contact direct avec les consommateurs. La campagne Ontario Ingredients for Success « nous offre un excellent moyen d’apprendre à connaître d’autres acteurs de l’industrie alimentaire », dit Mme Muth.

Établir un lien avec les acheteurs

Stacy Butler, spécialiste des services alimentaires de Turkey Farmers of Ontario, indique que l’établissement d’un lien avec les entreprises de services alimentaires « afin de les aider à promouvoir le dindon local » est un avantage concret du projet pour son association.

Grâce à ce programme « et aux activités auxquelles nous avons participé, nous avons eu la possibilité de mettre en valeur le dindon frais, d’atteindre d’autres fournisseurs et d’autres vendeurs et de discuter avec des utilisateurs finaux », comme des groupes hospitaliers, des universités et des traiteurs, dit Mme Butler.

Les entreprises de services alimentaires et d’autres entreprises « recourront à ce programme pour trouver de l’information sur les produits de dindon locaux et se renseigner sur les produits offerts », souligne Mme Butler, qui soutient leurs efforts de promotion des produits locaux.

En conclusion

Des associations agricoles établissent un lien direct avec des entreprises de services alimentaires et d’autres entreprises désireuses de faire la promotion des ingrédients locaux dans le cadre d’une campagne unique en son genre.

Article par : Susan Mann