Meet a leader in precision nutrition

When it comes to high-performance supplements, Jean Fontaine, president and founder of   Jefo Group is one of the most knowledgeable people in Canada. His entire career has centred around the development of products to replace such supplements, or growth promoters.

Jefo Group is based in St-Hyacinthe, just outside Montreal, and is a world leader in the field. For example, their nutritional solutions are sold to animal industries in over 80 countries.

The company began operations in 1982 when Jean had just completed his animal science degree and began importing micronutrients for animal feed. Once he had unearthed a phosphate supplier from Holland and a sodium bicarbonate supplier from Belgium, his list of suppliers grew rapidly.

By importing directly from Europe, Jefo quickly distinguished itself on the Canadian market as a supplier of quality products at very competitive prices. This approach is reflected in the Jefo Group slogan: Life, Made Easier.

At the beginning of the 1990s, Jefo initiated a major change and the company began adopting the new micronutrient protective technology - technology they had previously participated in developing.

“I use the image of the Trojan horse to describe this technology,” explains Fontaine. “What we want is for the nutrients to reach the intestines, where they balance the composition of microflora before they are metabolized. If they're not protected, they lose their effectiveness because the stomach breaks them down or absorbs them before they reach their intended target.”

Non-medicated growth promoters

In the space of only a few years, the company, which started as a modest distributor, became a manufacturer of nutritional solutions. Jefo had a unique mission: to help farmers achieve optimal livestock performance without using medicated feed as growth promoters.

At the time, systematically adding small doses of antibiotics into pig and poultry feed was standard practice. By controlling intestinal flora, these medications help the animal maintain good health and grow quickly. The downside, as we are increasingly aware, is that this preventative use of antibiotics may result in the creation of resistant micro-organisms.

Faced with such a threat, public authorities began adopting new regulations. For instance, in 2006 the European Union created new legislation that allows medicated feed additives to be used only with a prescription from a veterinarian. 

It took forward-thinking and vision to start proposing non-medicated growth promoters two decades ago. “At that time, no one was talking about antibiotic resistant micro-organisms,” Fontaine remembers. To convince clients, the company concentrated its efforts on research.

“To persuade a PhD in animal nutrition that your product works,” he says, “you have to show scientific results.” The Jefo Group developed partnerships with different universities across North America including Laval, Guelph, University of California and Cornell University. It then expanded its network into Europe, South America and Southeast Asia.

During this time, the company created its own infrastructure, investing in and building swine and poultry research farms. Visitors are welcome at the Jefo Campus where over 60 researchers, animal science specialists and veterinarians are at work. 

Multiple product lines

The Jefo team has developed a wide range of products. For example, they offer a progressive-release zinc supplement.

“In pigs, an effective way to fight diarrhea is to add zinc to the feed,” explains Fontaine. “The problem is that when zinc is used in its traditional form, the majority ends up in the manure rather than being metabolized by the animal. This means there is a lot of waste, and at the same time it creates a potential source of pollution because when this manure is spread in the fields, there is a risk of raising zinc levels to a point where it is harmful to the crops. Our product allows farmers to use one-tenth the amount of zinc previously recommended while maintaining livestock performance.”

The company founder is particularly proud of the vitamin solution for dairy cows developed by his team. “This product is given to dairy cows during the three weeks prior to calving,” he explains. “It significantly reduces the occurrence of retained placenta, acetonemia and udder edema. The farmer thus keeps his cull rate lower.”

Reinvesting – a success model

Jefo is on a roll. “Our total revenue was $100 million in 2010, $250 million in 2015 and it should pass half a billion in 2020,” he says, adding, “That’s largely the result of having over the years reinvested the majority of our profits back into the company, just as farmers do on their farms.”

Jean just turned sixty and has begun passing on the reins to his children. “We can count on a solid team during this transition,” he says.

“Another challenge is anticipating the benefits new fields of knowledge like intestinal microbiome research and artificial intelligence will have for agriculture." "We want to imagine what’s next and redefine the boundaries of animal nutrition."

From an AgriSuccess article (November 2018) by André Piette.

Un leader de la nutrition de précision

En matière d’additifs alimentaires, Jean Fontaine, président fondateur du Groupe Jefo, est parmi ceux qui s’y connaissent le mieux au Canada. Toute sa carrière a été dédiée au développement de produits pouvant remplacer ces additifs aussi appelés facteurs de croissance.

Le Groupe Jefo, situé à Saint-Hyacinthe, en périphérie de Montréal, est un leader mondial dans ce domaine. Les solutions nutritionnelles de l’entreprise agroalimentaire sont écoulées auprès de fabricants d’aliments d’élevage dans plus de 80 pays.

L’entreprise voit le jour en 1982 quand, son diplôme en sciences animales à peine accroché au mur, M. Fontaine commence à importer des micronutriments d’élevage. Il déniche un fournisseur de phosphate en Hollande, un autre de bicarbonate de soude en Belgique, et la liste des fournisseurs s’allonge rapidement.

En important directement d’Europe, Jefo se fait vite connaître sur le marché canadien comme un fournisseur de produits de qualité à des prix très compétitifs. Le slogan du Groupe Jefo reflète d’ailleurs bien cette approche : La vie, en plus facile.

Au début des années 90, Jefo amorce un virage majeur. L’entreprise adopte une technologie de protection des micronutriments qu’elle a contribué à développer.

« J’utilise l’image du cheval de Troie pour décrire cette technologie, explique M. Fontaine. Ce qu’on veut, c’est que les micronutriments puissent atteindre l’intestin, où ils harmonisent la composition de la microflore avant d’être métabolisés. S’ils ne sont pas protégés, ils perdent toute leur efficacité, car l’estomac les dégrade ou les absorbe avant qu’ils n’atteignent leur cible. »

Des facteurs de croissance non médicamenteux

De simple distributrice, l’entreprise devient, en l’espace de quelques années, un concepteur de solutions nutritionnelles. Elle se donne une mission unique : aider les éleveurs à obtenir de bonnes performances sans recourir à des facteurs de croissance médicamenteux.

À cette époque, on intègre systématiquement de faibles doses d’antibiotiques à la ration des porcs et de la volaille. En contrôlant la flore intestinale, ces médicaments aident l’animal à demeurer en santé et à croître rapidement. L’inconvénient, nous en sommes de plus en plus conscients aujourd’hui, c’est que cet usage préventif des antibiotiques peut conduire au développement de microorganismes résistants.

Devant cette menace, les autorités publiques ont d’ailleurs commencé à légiférer. Ainsi, en 2006, l’Union européenne a interdit l’ajout d’additifs médicamenteux aux aliments d’élevage, sauf sur prescription d’un vétérinaire.

Il fallait beaucoup d’audace, il y a deux décennies, pour proposer des solutions non médicamenteuses. « À l’époque, presque personne ne parlait de microorganismes résistants aux antibiotiques », se souvient M. Fontaine. Pour convaincre la clientèle, l’entreprise a misé à fond sur la recherche.

« Pour persuader un docteur en nutrition animale que ton produit est efficace, dit-il, tu dois lui présenter des résultats scientifiques. » Le Groupe Jefo a établi des partenariats avec différentes universités nord-américaines comme Laval, Guelph, l’Université de Californie et l’Université Cornell. Il a ensuite étendu son réseau à l’Europe, l’Amérique du Sud et l’Asie du Sud-Est.

En parallèle, l’entreprise met sur pied sa propre infrastructure qui comprend notamment des fermes de recherche sur le porc et la volaille. Les visiteurs sont d’ailleurs accueillis au Campus Jefo, où s’activent plus d’une soixantaine de chercheurs, agronomes et vétérinaires.

Une gamme de produits diversifiée

L’équipe Jefo a conçu, grâce à la recherche, une gamme très diversifiée de produits. Elle commercialise par exemple un zinc protégé à libération lente.

« Chez les porcelets, un moyen efficace de lutter contre la diarrhée est d’ajouter du zinc à la ration, explique M. Fontaine. Le problème, c’est que lorsque le zinc est utilisé sous sa forme traditionnelle, la majeure partie se retrouve dans le fumier plutôt que d’être assimilée par le métabolisme de l’animal. Cela constitue du gaspillage en même temps qu’une source potentielle de pollution, car à force d’épandre ce fumier dans les champs, on risque d’y élever le niveau de zinc au point que cela devienne nocif pour les cultures. Or, notre produit permet de diviser par dix la quantité de zinc utilisée tout en maintenant la performance de l’élevage. »

Du côté des bovins laitiers, le fondateur est particulièrement fier de la solution vitaminique conçue par son équipe. « On sert ce produit aux vaches laitières pendant les trois semaines précédant le vêlage, décrit-il. Il permet de réduire de manière significative la fréquence des rétentions placentaires, de l’acétonémie et de l’œdème mammaire. Le producteur maintient ainsi son taux de réforme au plus bas. »

Réinvestir les profits – un modèle gagnant

Jefo a le vent dans les voiles. « Notre chiffre d’affaires est passé de 100 millions de dollars en 2010 à 250 millions de dollars en 2015, et il devrait dépasser le demi-milliard en 2020 », indique M. Fontaine en ajoutant : « Cela résulte en bonne partie du fait, qu’au fil des ans, on a réinvesti la majorité des profits dans l’entreprise, tout comme le font les producteurs sur leur ferme. »

Alors qu’il vient de franchir le cap de la soixantaine, le président fondateur a commencé à passer les rênes à ses enfants. « On peut s’appuyer sur une équipe solide pour réaliser la transition », souligne-t-il.

« Un autre défi, conclut-il, c’est d’anticiper les retombées en agriculture de nouveaux domaines de connaissances comme le microbiome intestinal ou l’intelligence artificielle. » « On veut imaginer la prochaine ère de nutrition de précision. »

D’après un article de l’AgriSuccès (novembre 2018) par André Piette.