Business tips for aspiring livestock farmers

Farming livestock can be a rewarding, yet challenging venture. Successfully getting into the livestock business, say two veteran farmers, takes more than just hard physical work.

Indeed, new livestock farmers should do a lot of preliminary research.

Build a support network

For Sandi Brock, a sheep farmer from Southern Ontario, one of the most important steps new livestock farmers can take is to build a support network.

While experienced with dairy cattle and broiler chickens, Brock says she initially had no contacts or network of support in the sheep industry. She endeavoured to change this before truly investing, and looked for a good mentor – someone willing to share their practical knowledge without sugar-coating the venture. Finding a mentor, she says, involves extensive research, but can be facilitated by talking to trusted industry colleagues and commodity organizations.

“Any data you find is typically theory," Brock says. "It’s what should happen. They don’t have the stuff that could and does go wrong. I would talk to a producer who is really willing to share the good and the bad.”

Set realistic goals

Kim Waalderbos, a dairy and beef farmer from central New Brunswick, says new livestock farmers should establish realistic goals, including determining what level of income needs to be generated. This includes developing a business plan, which includes a marketing plan, identifying labour needs and setting a cash flow budget.

“The more time you spend at the research and thinking stage the better off you’ll be,” Waalderbos says.

“You’re not going to get rich quick in farming, so you have to be realistic with your expectations. It’s going to take time, take money and good planning. Always over-estimate expenses and under-estimate income to give yourself a cushion.”

She adds financing, should it be needed, is also easier to acquire with a thorough and organized business plan.

Don’t take animal health for granted

Research is also important in building a healthy flock or herd. Ensuring animals are purchased from reputable breeders who put extra effort into achieving high-health status, Brock says, is critical. This might cost more initially, but it’s well worth the investment.

“The health of the animal will haunt you or help you in every aspect of what you do... they are your source of income,” says Brock.

Waalderbos expresses a similar sentiment, saying higher investments in animal health – and surrounding oneself with good people – will save significant worry.

Match the business to your strengths

Both Brock and Waalderbos say every livestock farmer will encounter unexpected setbacks. Aspiring livestock farmers need to work to their own strengths and understand there will be a learning curve – whether or not one has experience working with animals.

Bottom line

Successfully bringing livestock into the farm operation requires knowledge research, setting achievable goals, establishing good herd health from the onset and embracing the learning curve, say two Canadian farmers.

Article by: Matt McIntosh

Conseils d’affaires à l’intention des éleveurs débutants

L’élevage de bétail peut être une entreprise à la fois enrichissante et hasardeuse. Selon deux productrices chevronnées, l’effort physique soutenu à lui seul ne garantit pas la réussite des éleveurs débutants.

En effet, les nouveaux éleveurs doivent avant tout mener d’abondantes recherches préliminaires.

Bâtir un réseau de soutien

Selon Sandi Brock, éleveuse de moutons du Sud de l’Ontario, l’une des mesures les plus importantes que les éleveurs de bétail débutants peuvent prendre est de bâtir un réseau de soutien.

Si elle possédait de l’expérience en élevage de bovins laitiers et de poulets à griller, Mme

« Les données que vous récoltez relèvent habituellement de la théorie, dit Mme Brock. Elles expliquent ce qui est censé arriver. Elles passent sous silence les problèmes potentiels, qui sont inévitables. Personnellement, je discuterais avec un producteur qui est disposé à parler des bons et des mauvais côtés. »

Établir des objectifs réalistes

Kim Waalderbos, productrice laitière et éleveuse de bovins de boucherie du Centre du Nouveau-Brunswick, indique que les éleveurs débutants devraient se fixer des objectifs réalistes, ce qui comprend l’établissement du niveau de revenu nécessaire. Pour ce faire, il convient d’élaborer un plan d’affaires, qui comporte un plan de marketing, de déterminer ses besoins en main-d’œuvre et d’établir un budget de trésorerie.

« Plus vous consacrez de temps à la recherche et à la réflexion, plus vous risquez de partir du bon pied », dit Mme Waalderbos.

« Vous ne ferez pas fortune du jour au lendemain en agriculture, d’où la nécessité d’avoir des attentes réalistes. Il faudra investir du temps et de l’argent et planifier judicieusement. Il est toujours préférable de surestimer vos dépenses et de sous-estimer votre revenu pour vous ménager une marge de manœuvre. » 

Elle ajoute qu’il est aussi plus facile d’obtenir du financement, en cas de besoin, si l’on possède un plan d’affaires détaillé et bien structuré.

Éviter de tenir la santé des animaux pour acquise

Il importe aussi d’effectuer des recherches pour constituer un troupeau ou une bande en santé. Il est essentiel d’acheter des animaux auprès d’éleveurs réputés qui déploient des efforts particuliers pour produire des animaux en excellente santé, insiste Mme Brock. Il s’agit d’un investissement initial important, mais le jeu en vaut la chandelle.

« La santé des animaux aura une incidence négative ou positive sur tous les aspects de votre entreprise : c’est de votre source de revenus qu’il est question », dit Mme Brock.

Mme Waalderbos partage ce point de vue et affirme que des investissements accrus dans la santé des animaux et le fait de vous entourer des bonnes personnes élimineront beaucoup de soucis.

Une entreprise qui correspond à vos forces

Mme Brock et Mme Waalderbos indiquent que chaque éleveur de bétail sera confronté à des revers inattendus. Les éleveurs débutants doivent mettre à profit leurs forces particulières et comprendre qu’ils devront se familiariser avec ce secteur d’activité, qu’ils possèdent ou non de l’expérience avec les animaux.

En conclusion

Selon deux agricultrices canadiennes, l’intégration réussie de l’élevage de bétail dans une exploitation agricole repose sur la recherche de connaissances, l’établissement d’objectifs réalistes, l’adoption de mesures visant à garantir la santé du troupeau dès le départ et la volonté d’apprendre.

Article par : Matt McIntosh