What does Thanksgiving turkey mean to you?

For many Canadians, Thanksgiving is an opportunity for reflection, or simply to spend time with family and friends. For Canada’s 531 turkey farmers, Thanksgiving also means business.

As you can probably guess, Thanksgiving isn’t the only important holiday for Canadian turkey producers. Christmas turkey sales are equal to those made during Thanksgiving. Together, these two holidays play a vital role in the livelihood of Canadian turkey producers.

The value of Canadian holiday feasts

How important are these two holidays for Canadian turkey producers? It’s estimated that 4.6 million Canadian households (or 33 per cent) purchased turkeys or turkey products for Thanksgiving. Combined, Thanksgiving and Christmas accounted for 81 per cent of the 8.5 million turkeys sold in 2014.

Thanksgiving turkey sales amounted to 3.1 million or 37 per cent of total sales in 2014. This works out to an estimated farm gate value of over $140 million. Christmas turkey sales are similar with 3.8 million turkeys sold, an estimated value of nearly $175 million.

So this year, remember to give thanks to Canadian agriculture producers!

Craig Klemmer, Senior Agricultural Economist

Que représente pour vous le dindon de l’Action de grâces?

Pour de nombreux Canadiens, l’Action de grâces est une occasion de réfléchir ou simplement de passer du temps en famille et entre amis. Pour les 531 éleveurs de dindon du Canada, c’est aussi une occasion d’affaires.

Comme vous vous en doutez, l’Action de grâces n’est pas la seule fête importante pour les éleveurs de dindon du Canada. En effet, les ventes de dindon de Noël sont comparables à celles de l’Action de grâces. Ensemble, ces deux fêtes ont une incidence déterminante sur le gagne-pain des éleveurs de dindon du Canada.

 

Les festins des fêtes en chiffres

Quelle importance ces deux fêtes revêtent-elles pour les éleveurs de dindon du Canada? On estime que 4,6 millions de ménages canadiens (soit 33 %) achètent des dindons ou des produits du dindon à l’Action de grâces. À elles seules, les fêtes de l’Action de grâces et de Noël ont compté pour 81 % des 8,5 millions de dindons vendus en 2014.

À l’Action de grâces 2014, il s’est vendu 3,1 millions de dindons, soit 37 % des ventes enregistrées au cours de l’année. Ces ventes ont représenté une valeur à la ferme estimative de plus de 140 millions de dollars. Les ventes de dindon de Noël ont été comparables, soit 3,8 millions de dindons d’une valeur de près de 175 millions de dollars.

Alors, cette année, n’oubliez pas de rendre grâce aux producteurs agricoles canadiens!

 

Craig Klemmer, économiste agricole principal