Top economic trends of 2018: The tech revolution of food retail

As we head into the new year, the Ag Economics team wants to help you anticipate 2018 with a look at five economic trends likely to affect Canadian agri-food this year. 

The evolution of the food-to-consumer relationship is our fifth and final trend to watch in 2018.  The food retail landscape has changed significantly in recent years with further transformation expected ahead. Agile businesses that are willing to change and embrace the new era of technology for food have a bright future.

E-Commerce is disruptive

The expansion of e-commerce is altering the food consumption experience by focusing on convenience and choice. This is disruptive for the traditional food supply chain.

In many ways, the Amazon takeover of Whole Foods Market set the e-commerce stage for online food products in 2017. Now dubbed the Amazon Effect,” many people are choosing to shop online which is pushing other grocers digitalize their processes.

Companies such as Instacart are creating opportunities for businesses to launch online interactions with consumers. In 2017, Instacart reached 52% of American households through retailers like Costco and Whole Foods, and with their recent purchase of the Canadian company, Unata, they hope to increase their reach in both countries.

Hybrid technologies and food

Although few grocers are looking to go to online only, there’s a push towards incorporating more tech hybrids to increase convenience for consumers, such as a personal scanner in stores for customers to see their running total or GPS guidance through the store for consumers to easily spot their desired food items.  

By maintaining the “touch” aspect with food, food retailers are hopeful they will be able to leverage the bricks-and-mortar model to compete head-to-head with e-commerce.

Leveraging the supply chain

The customer experience can also be developed by leveraging the existing supply chains of established grocers. Marketing exclusive food products and focusing on freshness are two examples of productive processor-to-retailer and producer-to-retailer relationships that create value across the supply chain.

We expect more opportunities for agricultural producers and food processors to establish strategic alliances with retailers.

Retail disruption and food prices

Competition between emerging and traditional food retailers has kept food inflation low in 2017. Prices of staple food products like butter, fresh fruits and flour have been trending lower in 2017.  Food inflation has been lower than overall inflation in Canada.

What's the bottom line?

We expect food inflation to be contained once again in 2018 due to competitive pressures in the industry. This trend will be positive for agricultural producers who have seen the demand for red meat, dairy, and fruits and vegetables remain steadily strong. This is especially important to minimize possible downward pressure on farm prices at a time when supply of agricultural products is projected to be abundant in 2018. 


Amy Carduner
Agricultural Economist

Amy joined the FCC Ag Economics team in 2017 to monitor agricultural trends and identify opportunities and challenges in the sector. Amy grew up on a mixed farm in Saskatchewan and continues to support the family operation. She holds a Master in Applied Economics and Management from Cornell University and a Bachelor in Agricultural Economics from the University of Saskatchewan.

@ACarduner


In this series

Principales tendances économiques de 2018 : Révolution technologique dans le secteur de l’alimentation au détail

En ce début d’année, l’équipe de l’Économie agricole de FAC souhaite vous présenter cinq tendances économiques qui influenceront probablement l’industrie agroalimentaire canadienne en 2018.

L’évolution du rapport entre le consommateur et la nourriture est la cinquième et dernière tendance à surveiller en 2018. Le secteur de l’alimentation au détail a considérablement changé au cours des dernières années et la transformation devrait se poursuivre. Les entreprises flexibles qui sont prêtes à évoluer et à adopter les nouvelles technologies de l’alimentaire se forgent un avenir prometteur.

Le commerce électronique perturbe

L’expansion du commerce électronique transforme l’expérience du consommateur en privilégiant la commodité et la variété. Cela est perturbant pour la chaîne traditionnelle d’approvisionnement en produits alimentaires. 

À bien des égards, l’acquisition du détaillant Whole Foods Market par Amazon a préparé le terrain du commerce en ligne des produits alimentaires en 2017. Du fait de ce qu’on appelle désormais « l’effet Amazon » (en anglais seulement), beaucoup de personnes optent pour le magasinage en ligne, ce qui pousse les autres épiceries à se tourner vers le numérique.

Des sociétés comme Instacart donnent aux commerçants des occasions d’interagir en ligne avec les consommateurs. En 2017, Instacart a atteint 52 % des foyers américains avec des détaillants comme Costco et Whole Foods, et, en acquérant récemment la société canadienne Unata, elle espère bien pénétrer davantage le marché de ces deux pays.

 

Technologies hybrides et produits alimentaires

Même si peu d’épiceries envisagent le commerce en ligne de façon exclusive, il existe une tendance en faveur d’une plus grande intégration des technologies hybrides pour la commodité des consommateurs. On observe par exemple la présence en magasin de scanneurs personnels permettant aux consommateurs de voir le montant de leurs dépenses, ou encore de dispositifs de guidage par GPS pour repérer facilement les articles recherchés.

En préservant l’expérience « par le toucher » du consommateur, les détaillants en alimentation espèrent pouvoir optimiser le modèle des magasins traditionnels de façon à rivaliser avec le commerce en ligne.

Optimisation de la chaîne d’approvisionnement

Il est également possible d’améliorer l’expérience du consommateur en optimisant les chaînes d’approvisionnement existantes des épiceries établies. La commercialisation de produits exclusifs et l’accent sur la fraîcheur sont deux exemples de relations productives entre le transformateur et le détaillant et entre le producteur et le détaillant qui créent de la valeur dans toute la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

Les producteurs agricoles et les transformateurs d’aliments devraient avoir plus d’occasions de former des alliances stratégiques avec les détaillants. 

Perturbation chez les détaillants et prix des aliments

En raison de la concurrence entre les nouveaux détaillants et les détaillants traditionnels, l’inflation alimentaire est restée faible en 2017. Les prix des produits de base comme le beurre, les fruits frais et la farine ont connu une tendance à la baisse en 2017 et l’inflation alimentaire a été inférieure à l’inflation globale au Canada.

Que faut-il retenir?

L’inflation alimentaire devrait rester limitée en 2018 du fait des pressions de la concurrence dans l’industrie. Cette tendance sera favorable aux producteurs agricoles qui constatent que la demande de viande rouge, de produits laitiers et de fruits et légumes reste soutenue. Ceci est particulièrement important pour limiter une éventuelle pression à la baisse sur les prix agricoles à un moment où l’on prévoit une offre abondante de produits en 2018.


Amy Carduner
Économiste agricole

Amy s’est jointe à l’équipe de l’Économie agricole de FAC en 2017 afin d’observer les tendances en agriculture et de cerner les occasions et les défis dans le secteur. Elle a grandi sur une ferme mixte familiale de la Saskatchewan, qu’elle continue de soutenir. Amy possède une maîtrise en économie appliquée et en gestion de l’Université Cornell ainsi qu’un baccalauréat en économie agricole de l’Université de la Saskatchewan.

@ACarduner


Dans cette série