3 things to watch now that the U.S. Federal Reserve held its key interest rate unchanged

FCC Economic Update

Highlights

  • Canadian agricultural producers benefit from a lower loonie as it increases the price producers receive for commodities that are priced in U.S. dollars such as wheat, soybeans and corn.
  • Innovation, productivity, and capacity are more important features to keep in mind than the relative value of the Canadian dollar.
  • We must also keep an eye on other export markets than the U.S.
  • The current uncertainty surrounding the world economy played a part in the decision of U.S. officials to delay their rate hike.

U.S. Federal Reserve officials left their key interest rate unchanged at the end of a much anticipated meeting in September. Their official statement opened the door for a rate hike to occur at their next meeting scheduled in December. This would be the first increase since their key interest rate has been pegged at a rock-bottom 0.25 per cent since 2008. Canadian producers compete in global markets that are truly influenced by financial variables and overall economic conditions.

What are the economic factors that Canadian producers need to watch over the next three months?

Loonie remaining weak

The Canadian dollar now stands at around 76 cents per U.S. dollar, following a slide that started out in 2013, and accelerated with the steep fall in oil prices at the end of 2014. While the role of the downward spiral in oil prices on the weakness of the loonie cannot be denied, we must not forget that the spread between interest rates in the U.S. and Canada does have an impact on the value of the Canadian dollar. The U.S. Federal announcement in September was met with a slight appreciation of the Canadian dollar given it was roughly in line with the expectations of the financial markets.

"A solid marketing plan is the greatest tool to navigate the uncertain world economic environment. It is especially important that producers develop one as we begin the post-harvest season."

All eyes are now on the U.S. Federal Reserve December meeting. The odds of a rate hike are pretty even at the moment. No matter if the first rate hike occurs in December or sometime in 2016, the Canadian dollar should be pressured downward over the course of the next three months. It seems clear that higher interest rates will occur in the U.S. before it happens in Canada.

Canadian agricultural producers benefit from a lower loonie as it increases the price producers receive for commodities that are priced in U.S. dollars such as wheat, soybeans and corn. The strength in the world supplies of grains and oilseeds will determine the general trend in U.S. prices, but domestic Canadian prices should be supported by the weaker Canadian dollar, at least in the short term.

Strength of Canadian exports to the U.S. market

The Canadian agriculture and food manufacturing sectors rely on export markets. And the U.S. market accounted for 71 per cent of Canadian exports of food manufacturing products in 2014. A weaker Canadian dollar against the U.S. dollar makes Canadian products more affordable for U.S. buyers. It is therefore not surprising that Canadian exports of food products to the U.S. have trended higher for the first seven months of the year compared to the same period a year ago. For example, the value of Canadian exports of meat products to the U.S. are up 14.5 per cent. Exports of sugar and confectionary products are up 21 per cent.

The short-term boost to the competitive position of Canadian exporters induced by the weaker loonie is something we have seen before. Yet, the relative value of the Canadian dollar is not the most significant driver of exports over the long-run. Innovation, productivity, and capacity are more important features to keep in mind.

We must also keep an eye on other export markets than the U.S. Our exports of fresh, chilled and frozen pork meat are down 15 per cent in Japan year-to-date, and a surprising 38 per cent in China. The currency of our competitors has also lost value against the U.S. dollar – potentially impacting our competitiveness. In other words, all currencies matter.

World economic jitters

The current uncertainty surrounding the world economy played a part in the decision of U.S. officials to delay their rate hike. Focusing on China is key. A major decline in the Chinese swine herd should open up opportunities in the pork market. China after all accounts for more than 50 per cent of the world hog production. The Chinese market accounts for 65 per cent of all soybean trade in the world.

The economic outlook for China is murky. A number of questions are emerging around the validity of the data released to measure the strength of the Chinese economy. No matter where the true numbers stand, declining investment, slowing manufacturing activity and a burdensome debt level threaten to trigger a hard landing for the Chinese economy.

On the positive side, the housing market in China is showing signs of a rebound. And retail sales are still strong. The current uncertainty is perhaps something we will need to become accustomed to as China transitions to an economy more heavily focused on domestic consumer spending.

Uncertainty definitely seems to be a common theme in agricultural markets. A solid marketing plan is the greatest tool to navigate the uncertain world economic environment. It is especially important that producers develop one as we begin the post-harvest season.

J.P. Gervais, Chief Agricultural Economist

Did you know that we host learning events across Canada on topics just like this? Find an FCC event near you.

Trois facteurs à surveiller maintenant que la Réserve fédérale des États-Unis a annoncé qu'elle maintiendra son taux directeur inchangé

Chronique économique FAC

Aperçu

  • Lorsque le huard est faible, les producteurs agricoles canadiens sont avantagés parce qu'ils obtiennent un prix plus élevé pour les marchandises libellées en dollars US comme le blé, le soja et le maïs.
  • L'innovation, la productivité et la capacité sont des facteurs encore plus importants que la valeur relative du dollar canadien, et nous devons les garder à l'esprit.
  • Nous devons aussi surveiller des marchés d'exportation autres que les États-Unis.
  • L'incertitude actuelle entourant l'économie mondiale a influencé la décision des responsables américains de reporter la hausse de taux d'intérêt.

À la fin d'une réunion fort attendue tenue en septembre, les responsables de la Réserve fédérale des États-Unis (la Fed) ont annoncé qu'ils maintiendront leur taux directeur inchangé. Dans leur déclaration officielle, ils laissent entendre qu'ils pourraient annoncer une hausse de taux à leur prochaine réunion, prévue en décembre. Il s'agirait de la première hausse depuis que le taux directeur aux États-Unis s'est fixé à un creux record de 0,25 %, en 2008. Les producteurs canadiens rivalisent sur des marchés internationaux qui sont réellement influencés par des variables financières et par la conjoncture globale.

Quels facteurs économiques les producteurs canadiens doivent-ils surveiller au cours des trois prochains mois?

« Un plan marketing solide est l'outil le plus efficace pour évoluer dans cet environnement économique mondial incertain. Il est particulièrement important pour les producteurs d'en créer un en ce début de saison de l'après-récolte. »

La faiblesse soutenue du huard

Le dollar canadien se situe actuellement à environ 76 cents par dollar US, résultat d'un glissement qui s'est amorcé en 2013 et qui s'est accéléré en raison de la chute marquée des cours pétroliers à la fin de 2014. La faiblesse du huard n'est certes pas étrangère au déclin des cours pétroliers, mais nous ne devons pas oublier que l'écart entre les taux d'intérêt aux États-Unis et au Canada a aussi un impact sur la valeur du dollar canadien. L'annonce de septembre de la Fed a entraîné une légère appréciation de notre dollar étant donné qu'elle correspondait grosso modo aux attentes des marchés financiers.

Tous les regards sont désormais tournés vers la réunion de décembre de la Fed. À l'heure actuelle, il y a environ une chance sur deux qu'on y annonce une hausse de taux. Que la première hausse ait lieu en décembre ou à un moment donné en 2016, le dollar canadien devrait subir une pression à la baisse au cours des trois prochains mois. Ce qui semble certain, c'est que les taux d'intérêt augmenteront aux États-Unis avant d'augmenter au Canada.

Lorsque le huard est faible, les producteurs agricoles canadiens sont avantagés parce qu'ils obtiennent un prix plus élevé pour les marchandises libellées en dollars US comme le blé, le soja et le maïs. L'importance des réserves mondiales de céréales et d'oléagineux déterminera la tendance générale des prix aux États-Unis, mais les prix sur le marché national canadien devraient être soutenus par la faiblesse du dollar canadien, du moins à court terme.

Le dynamisme des exportations canadiennes vers le marché des États-Unis

Les secteurs de l'agriculture et de la fabrication d'aliments au Canada sont tributaires des marchés d'exportation. En 2014, les États-Unis ont été la destination de 71 % des exportations canadiennes de produits alimentaires transformés. Lorsque le huard est faible par rapport au dollar US, les produits canadiens sont moins chers pour les acheteurs américains. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que les exportations canadiennes de produits alimentaires vers les États-Unis aient été à la hausse au cours des sept premiers mois de l'année comparativement à la même période l'année précédente. Par exemple, la valeur des exportations canadiennes de produits de la viande vers les États-Unis a grimpé de 14,5 %, et les exportations de sucre et de confiseries ont bondi de 21 %.

Le coup de pouce à court terme apporté à la position concurrentielle des exportateurs canadiens par la faiblesse du huard n'est pas inusité. Pourtant, la valeur relative du dollar canadien n'est pas l'influence la plus déterminante sur les exportations à long terme. L'innovation, la productivité et la capacité sont des facteurs encore plus importants que nous devons garder à l'esprit.

Nous devons aussi continuer à surveiller des marchés d'exportation autres que les États-Unis. Notamment, nos exportations de porc frais, de porc réfrigéré et de porc congelé à destination du Japon sont en baisse de 15 % depuis le début de l'exercice, et ces exportations à destination de la Chine sont en baisse de 38 %, ce qui a de quoi surprendre. La monnaie de nos concurrents s'est aussi dépréciée par rapport au dollar US, ce qui a peut-être une incidence sur notre compétitivité. Autrement dit, toutes les monnaies ont leur importance.

Le tumulte économique mondial

L'incertitude actuelle entourant l'économie mondiale a influencé la décision de la Fed de reporter la hausse de taux d'intérêt. À ce chapitre, la Chine a une incidence cruciale. Un déclin marqué du cheptel porcin chinois devrait créer des débouchés sur le marché du porc. Après tout, la Chine représente plus de 50 % de la production porcine mondiale. Par ailleurs, le marché chinois représente 65 % de tous les échanges mondiaux de soja.

Les perspectives économiques de la Chine sont nébuleuses. De nombreuses questions se posent quant à la validité des données publiées concernant la vigueur de l'économie chinoise. Peu importe quels chiffres disent vrai, le fait est que la baisse des investissements, le ralentissement de l'activité manufacturière et le niveau accablant de la dette menacent de provoquer un atterrissage brutal pour l'économie chinoise.

Sur une note positive, mentionnons que le marché de l'habitation de la Chine affiche des signes de redressement et que les ventes au détail demeurent dynamiques. L'incertitude actuelle est peut-être une réalité à laquelle nous devons nous habituer dans le contexte où la Chine effectue le passage vers une économie plus axée sur les dépenses de consommation intérieures.

Chose certaine, l'incertitude est un thème récurrent sur les marchés agricoles. Un plan marketing solide est l'outil le plus efficace pour évoluer dans cet environnement économique mondial incertain. Il est particulièrement important pour les producteurs d'en créer un en ce début de saison de l'après-récolte.

Jean-Philippe Gervais, économiste agricole en chef

Saviez-vous que nous offrons des événements d'apprentissage sur ce genre de sujets partout au Canada? Trouvez un événement près de chez vous.