3 ratios for assessing Canada’s (and your) agriculture balance sheet

2015, total liabilities on Canadian farms increased at faster pace than asset values for the first time in over 5 years: farm debt increased 8.9% while asset appreciation was 6.2%. This is a trend that was consistent across all provinces.

Statistics Canada’s Balance sheet of agriculture signals a softening in an otherwise very healthy financial picture for Canadian farms.

Here are three popular ratios for evaluating the overall health of Canadian agriculture. These financial measures are also useful for benchmarking individual operations.

1.  Liquidity

Liquidity indicates Canadian agriculture’s ability to meet financial obligations. A widely accepted ratio is the current ratio: it compares current assets such as cash, accounts receivable, and inventory to current liabilities. In 2015, the current ratio decreased from 263% to 238% – its lowest point since 2009. The most recent five-year average is 264%. Canadian farms are in a weaker position to meet short-term financial commitments.

2. Solvency

The debt-to-asset ratio indicates whether a farm has sufficient assets to cover all liabilities. In 2015, total farm debt increased faster than total assets. As a result, the debt-to-asset ratio increased and points in a different direction than the last six years. Despite the small increase, the debt-to-asset ratio remains historically low at 15.5%, compared to the previous five-year average of 15.9% and the 10-year average of 16.5%.

3. Profitability

Return on assets indicates how profitable a farm is relative to its total assets. This is calculated by comparing net income to total assets. In 2015, record net income resulted in an increase in the profitability ratio to 2.3% from 2.0% in 2014; however, this is well below the 3.9% in 2013. The five-year average is 2.7%. Canadian farms appear to achieve a slightly lower return on the value of their assets.

Overall, Canadian agriculture is strong. Liabilities are currently increasing faster than asset values, which softens overall farm health and that spells a bit of caution moving forward.

How does your operation stack up to the national trends and figures?

Trois ratios pour évaluer le bilan de l’agriculture canadienne (et le vôtre)

En 2015, pour la première fois en plus de cinq ans, le passif total des exploitations agricoles canadiennes a augmenté à un rythme plus rapide que la valeur de l’actif : la dette agricole a augmenté de 8,9 % alors que la valeur de l’actif s’est appréciée de 6,2 %. C’est une tendance qui a été constante dans toutes les provinces. 

Le Bilan du secteur agricole de Statistique Canada indique un ralentissement dans un contexte financier par ailleurs très sain pour les exploitations agricoles canadiennes.

Voici trois ratios populaires pour évaluer la santé globale de l’agriculture canadienne. Ces mesures financières sont également utiles pour faire une analyse comparative des exploitations individuelles. 

1.  Liquidité

La liquidité indique la capacité de l’agriculture canadienne à respecter ses obligations financières. Un ratio qui est largement admis est le ratio du fonds de roulement : il compare l’actif à court terme, comme l’encaisse, les comptes clients et les stocks, au passif à court terme. En 2015, le ratio du fonds de roulement est passé de 263 % à 238 % – soit son niveau le plus bas depuis 2009. La moyenne quinquennale la plus récente est 264 %. Les exploitations agricoles canadiennes sont dans une moins bonne position pour respecter leurs engagements financiers à court terme. 

2. Solvabilité

Le ratio d’endettement indique si une exploitation a suffisamment d’actifs pour couvrir tous ses passifs. En 2015, la dette agricole totale a augmenté plus rapidement que l’actif total. Ainsi, le ratio d’endettement a augmenté et va dans une direction différente de celle des six dernières années. Malgré la faible hausse, le ratio d’endettement demeure à un niveau historiquement faible à 15,5 %, comparativement à la moyenne antérieure sur cinq ans de 15,9 % et la moyenne sur dix ans de 16,5 %. .

3. Rentabilité

RLe rendement de l’actif indique à quel point une exploitation est rentable par rapport à son actif total. Ce calcul est effectué en comparant le revenu net à l’actif total. En 2015, un revenu net record a donné lieu à une hausse du ratio de rentabilité qui est passé de 2,0 % (2014) à 2,3 %; cependant, ce pourcentage est largement inférieur au ratio de 3,9 % obtenu en 2013. La moyenne quinquennale s’élève à 2,7 %. Les exploitations canadiennes semblent obtenir un rendement légèrement inférieur en ce qui a trait à la valeur de leur actif.

L’agriculture canadienne est solide dans l’ensemble. Le passif augmente actuellement plus rapidement que la valeur de l’actif, ce qui contribue à affaiblir la santé globale des exploitations agricoles et constitue un rappel à la prudence dorénavant.

Comment se compare votre exploitation par rapport aux tendances et aux chiffres à l’échelle nationale?