Is a Weaker Dollar Good for the Grain and Oilseed Sector?

In my previous blog post I asked the question “Is a weaker dollar good for agriculture?” I highlighted the positive relationship between net farm income and the value of the Canadian dollar relative to the U.S. dollar.  But I also suggested that this relationship may not hold true across all sectors.

One of the constraints in investigating in a sector in greater details is the availability of the data. Giving a more detailed look to the crop sector requires analyzing farm cash receipts, instead of a broader profitability measure.  

So does a weaker Canadian dollar good lead to higher farm cash receipts for grain and oilseed producers?

There are many factors to consider:

1.       A strong loonie usually implies a strong demand for commodities

2.       Grains and oilseeds are generally priced in U.S. dollars.

3.       A majority of Canadian grain and oilseed exports go to countries other than the U.S.  

I argued in our previous blog post that a higher loonie generally implies a strong demand for commodities, and hence this should result in higher prices. But there are other factors at play.

Grains and oilseeds are priced in U.S. dollars – Canadian producers are simply price takers. Hence an appreciation of the Canadian dollar will lower the price paid to Canadian producers when converted back into Canadian dollars.

Market other than the U.S. market accounted for approximately 75% of the value of Canadian grain and oilseed exports. A stronger dollar will mean a loss of competitiveness against U.S. producers and will result in lower export sales.   

Hence, we have conflicting effects. A higher dollar indicates strong demand and should result in higher prices and cash receipts. Conversely, it also lowers the price received by Canadian producers and potentially leads to a reduction in sales in the U.S. market.

While the U.S. market accounts for roughly 25% of grain and oilseed exports, its overall weight is not that significant.  As a result one would expect the value of the loonie and grain and oilseed farm cash receipts to trend together. So when the Canadian dollar weakens such as over the last few months, farm cash receipts for grains and oilseeds in Canada should trend lower.

Yes, a stronger Canadian dollar is good for the grain and oilseed sector. Because the U.S. dollar is the primary currency for many international transactions, the positive correlation between farm cash receipts and the Canadian dollar is not very strong. The relative importance of a weaker or stronger Canadian dollar has to do with the importance of exports to the U.S. economy.

Craig Klemmer, Agricultural Economist

La dépréciation du dollar est-elle avantageuse pour le secteur des céréales et des oléagineux?

Dans mon billet précédent, j’ai posé la question : « La dépréciation du dollar est-elle avantageuse pour l’agriculture?J’ai souligné la corrélation entre le revenu agricole net et la valeur du dollar canadien par rapport au dollar américain.  Toutefois, j’ai également mentionné qu’il était possible que cette corrélation ne tienne pas dans tous les secteurs.

L’une des difficultés que pose une étude plus approfondie des différents secteurs est l’accès aux données. Pour analyser le secteur des grandes cultures, il faut examiner les recettes monétaires agricoles au lieu d’une mesure plus large de la rentabilité.  

Alors, la dépréciation du dollar canadien entraîne-t-elle une hausse des recettes monétaires agricoles des producteurs de céréales et d’oléagineux?

Il y a plusieurs facteurs à prendre en compte :

1.       Un huard fort suppose généralement une forte demande de produits de base;

2.       Les prix des céréales et les oléagineux sont généralement établis en dollars américains;

3.       La majorité des exportations canadiennes de céréales et d’oléagineux est destinée à des pays autres que les États-Unis.  

Dans mon dernier billet, j’ai expliqué que l’appréciation du huard supposait généralement une forte demande de produits de base, laquelle devrait faire grimper les prix. Toutefois, d’autres facteurs entrent en jeu.

Les prix des céréales et des oléagineux sont généralement établis en dollars américains, les producteurs canadiens étant simplement des preneurs de prix. Par conséquent, l’appréciation du dollar canadien fait reculer les prix offerts aux producteurs canadiens, une fois que ces prix sont convertis en dollars canadiens.

Les marchés autres que celui des États-Unis représentent approximativement 75 % de la valeur des exportations canadiennes de céréales et d’oléagineux. Une appréciation du dollar rend les produits canadiens moins abordables que les produits américains, ce qui entraîne une baisse des exportations.   

Nous sommes donc en présence d’effets contraires. Une appréciation du dollar indique une forte demande, laquelle devrait faire grimper les prix et les recettes monétaires agricoles. À l’inverse, elle fait reculer les prix reçus par les producteurs canadiens, ce qui peut causer une baisse des exportations vers les États-Unis.

Représentant environ 25 % des exportations canadiennes de céréales et d’oléagineux, le marché américain pèse relativement peu dans la balance.  Par conséquent, on peut donc s’attendre à une évolution parallèle de la valeur du huard et des recettes monétaires des producteurs de céréales et d’oléagineux. Lorsque le dollar canadien s’affaiblit, comme cela a été le cas au cours des derniers mois, les recettes monétaires agricoles dans le secteur devraient également suivre une tendance baissière.

C’est donc dire que l’appréciation du dollar canadien est avantageuse pour le secteur des céréales et des oléagineux. Comme le dollar des États-Unis est la principale monnaie utilisée dans le commerce international, la corrélation entre les recettes monétaires agricoles et le dollar canadien n’est pas très forte. La force de la corrélation entre la valeur du dollar canadien et les recettes monétaires agricoles dépend de l’importance des exportations vers le marché américain.

Craig Klemmer, économiste agricole