How innovation turns a cautious outlook into a positive projection

Last week’s post examined the USDA Outlook long-term projections for agricultural markets and showed a 2018 decline in expected U.S. farm income. Despite this pessimistic forecast, the long-term projections reveal some positive factors, mostly due to the rising demand for food and global economic growth.

It became clear to me after attending this year’s USDA Outlook conference in Washington that there’s another reason for a positive view of agriculture’s future.

The only constant in agriculture is change

There was an overall tone of optimism and encouragement in each of the presentations; despite the  unpromising forecasts, they spoke of the resilience of farmers and the constant drive for innovation, with one presenter stating, “Innovation is a requirement, not a choice. It’s essential to survival.”

Canadian agriculture is becoming increasingly high-tech. This leads to increased productivity, lower costs, and increased producers profits. There is no lack of interesting, innovative technologies coming into the market soon, such as:

  • Facial recognition for livestock to monitor feed consumption and milk production
  • Use of drones to monitor irrigation
  • Smart driverless tractors

However, most innovations require one main ingredient that is essential to make technology work, which in some areas is still unavailable: connectivity.

High-speed internet is a key to innovation

Connecting farmers to the world is currently one of the most important hurdles for innovation. Less than half the farms in Canada reported having access to high-speed internet in 2011. Data from the 2016 Census of Agriculture is not yet available, but is almost sure to show an increase in this figure.

High-speed internet access in rural areas allows people to connect their businesses to the world. This includes simple everyday (or hourly) activities like monitoring the weather or commodity futures, or big-ticket items like the use of drones or smart tractors. In fact, the consensus at the conference was that connectivity is the number one way to support rural prosperity.

With rising global production of commodities and food, Canadian agriculture will need to innovate to stay profitable. Most likely, the push for new technologies and improving upon existing practices will deliver the optimistic future we all see for agriculture. 


Amy Carduner
Agricultural Economist

Amy joined the FCC Ag Economics team in 2017 to monitor agricultural trends and identify opportunities and challenges in the sector. Amy grew up on a mixed farm in Saskatchewan and continues to support the family operation. She holds a Master in Applied Economics and Management from Cornell University and a Bachelor in Agricultural Economics from the University of Saskatchewan.

@ACarduner

Une perspective prudente transformée en projection favorable grâce à l’innovation

Le billet de la semaine dernière examinait les projections à long terme de l’USDA pour les marchés agricoles et montrait un repli du revenu agricole américain en 2018. Malgré cette prévision pessimiste, les projections à long terme révèlent quelques facteurs encourageants, principalement en raison de la demande croissante d’aliments et de la croissance économique mondiale.  

Ma participation à la conférence des perspectives de l’USDA à Washington m’a fait réaliser qu’il y a une autre raison de demeurer optimiste au sujet de l’avenir de l’agriculture.

La seule constante en agriculture est le changement

Un ton général d’optimisme et d’encouragement régnait dans tous les exposés. Malgré des prévisions peu favorables, les conférenciers ont parlé de la résilience des agriculteurs et de leur volonté de constamment innover, l’un d’entre eux affirmant que « l’innovation n’est pas optionnelle; elle est indispensable à la survie. »

L’agriculture canadienne se transforme rapidement en un secteur de haute technologie, ce qui entraîne une hausse de la productivité, une baisse des coûts et une rentabilité accrue pour les producteurs. Il ne manque pas de technologies intéressantes et innovantes en voie d’introduction, comme :

  • la reconnaissance faciale des animaux d’élevage, ce qui permettra de faire le suivi de la consommation d’aliments pour animaux et de la production de lait
  • l’utilisation de drones pour surveiller l’irrigation
  • les tracteurs intelligents sans conducteur

Toutefois, la plupart des innovations nécessitent un ingrédient qui est essentiel pour assurer le fonctionnement de la technologie, mais qui n’est toujours pas accessible dans certaines régions : la connectivité.

Internet haute vitesse est crucial à l’innovation

Brancher les agriculteurs au monde est, à l’heure actuelle, l’un des plus importants obstacles à l’innovation. Moins de la moitié des propriétaires d’exploitations agricoles ont déclaré avoir un accès Internet à haute vitesse en 2011. Les données du Recensement de l’agriculture 2016 ne sont pas encore publiées, mais il est presque certain qu’elles montreront une hausse à ce chapitre.  

L’accès à Internet haute vitesse dans les régions rurales permet aux gens de relier leurs entreprises au monde. Il sert à la fois aux activités quotidiennes simples, comme la vérification des prévisions météorologiques et des prix à terme des produits agricoles de base, et aux activités plus complexes comme l’utilisation de drones et de tracteurs intelligents. En fait, selon l’opinion générale à la conférence, la connectivité est la meilleure façon de soutenir la prospérité rurale.

Dans un contexte où la production mondiale d’aliments et de produits agricoles de base ne cesse de croître, le secteur agricole canadien devra innover pour demeurer rentable. L’adoption de nouvelles technologies et l’amélioration des pratiques actuelles contribueront sans doute à faire de la perspective favorable que nous entrevoyons tous pour l’agriculture une réalité.


Amy Carduner
Économiste agricole

Amy s’est jointe à l’équipe de l’Économie agricole de FAC en 2017 afin d’observer les tendances en agriculture et de cerner les occasions et les défis dans le secteur. Elle a grandi sur une ferme mixte familiale de la Saskatchewan, qu’elle continue de soutenir. Amy possède une maîtrise en économie appliquée et en gestion de l’Université Cornell ainsi qu’un baccalauréat en économie agricole de l’Université de la Saskatchewan.

@ACarduner