Got food?

But as much as export growth responds to the number of people who need to eat, income (and not population growth) drives consumption. With more disposable income, consumers in developing economies do two things:

• Buy more food
• Buy more protein-rich food

The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) projects a whopping 60 per cent increase in food consumption by 2050, compared to the 2007-2009 average. A lot of that will come from the developing world, projected to see some of the fastest future income growth.

Hence, exporters’ recognition of the importance of emerging economies to global markets - despite the dominance of exports to member countries of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

The value of Canada’s primary agriculture exports to OECD countries, which include the world’s richest economies, is four times that of exports to the developing Brazil, Russia, India and China. If there’s an issue for Canadian producers, it’s that the OECD represents mature or in some cases, declining markets.

Diversifying exports to include countries beyond traditional markets makes sense, a practice that’s likely to continue with such current growth hot spots as China – and beyond the era when exports to China start leveling off.

That day will come: the chance to grow exports in response to a country’s income growth doesn’t last forever. Income growth spurs food consumption growth, but only to a certain point. In the early years of income growth, additional dollars of disposable income mean more food purchases (and protein-rich food in particular) in developing countries. But then, the boon to consumption provided by added income starts to fade.

Look at the example of meat. Increased consumption slows when income reaches a threshold of about $10,000 per capita (p/c). In China, red meat consumption grew by 23% between 2002 and 2012 at the same time as an almost 1000 per cent increase in urban households with $9000+ p/c income. The OECD-FAO Outlook projects that consumption will grow a further 15% by 2022 as the number of households with $16,000 household p/c income increase by an additional 25%.

But just as red meat consumption in China picked up as their p/c income rose, the same will happen elsewhere throughout the developing world. With export opportunities appearing as emerging markets reach higher income levels, ensuring a Canadian presence in those expanding global markets may be the bigger challenge.

Look back here for more on the opportunities and challenges of global trade.

Martha Roberts
Economic Research Specialist

Martha is a Research Specialist with a focus on economic performance and success factors for agricultural producers and agri-businesses. Martha has 20 years’ experience conducting and communicating quantitative and qualitative research results to a number of different audiences. She holds a Master of Sociology degree from Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario.

@MJaneRoberts

Des aliments, s’il vous plaît!

Le monde change et avec lui (ce n’est pas une surprise), la demande d’aliments.

Mais alors que les exportations augmentent en fonction du nombre de personnes qui doivent s’alimenter, c’est le revenu (et non la croissance de la population) qui fait varier la consommation. Lorsque leur revenu disponible augmente, les consommateurs des économies en développement font deux choses:

·         Ils achètent plus d’aliments

·         Ils achètent plus d’aliments riches en protéines

L’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO) prévoit une hausse phénoménale de 60 % de la consommation d’aliments d’ici 2050, par rapport à la moyenne pour 2007 à 2009. Une bonne partie de cette hausse sera attribuable au monde en développement, qui devrait connaître l’une des croissances de revenu futur les plus rapides.

D’où la nécessité pour les exportateurs de reconnaître l’importance des économies émergentes sur les marchés mondiaux – malgré la dominance des exportations aux pays membres de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE).

La valeur des exportations de produits agricoles primaires du Canada vers les pays membres de l’OCDE, qui incluent les économies les plus riches au monde, est de quatre fois la valeur des exportations aux pays en développement comme le Brésil, la Russie, l’Inde et la Chine. Si cela pose problème pour les producteurs canadiens, c’est que l’OCDE représente des marchés établis ou, dans certains cas, en déclin.

Il est sensé de diversifier les exportations afin d’y inclure les pays qui ne font pas partie des marchés traditionnels, une pratique qui se poursuivra vraisemblablement avec des points chauds de croissance comme la Chine – et cela, bien après que les exportations vers la Chine commenceront à diminuer.  

Ce jour viendra; la chance d’augmenter les exportations en réponse à la croissance du revenu d’un pays ne durera pas toujours. La croissance du revenu stimule la croissance de la consommation mais seulement dans une certaine mesure. Durant les premières années de croissance du revenu, les dollars additionnels en revenu disponible signifient plus d’achats d’aliments (et surtout d’aliments riches en protéines) dans les pays en développement. Mais ensuite, les bénéfices du revenu additionnel sur la consommation se mettent à régresser.

Prenons par exemple la viande. La hausse de la consommation ralentit lorsque le revenu atteint un seuil d’environ 10 000 $ par habitant. En Chine, la consommation de viande rouge a augmenté de 23 % entre 2002 et 2012 en même temps qu’une hausse de près de 1 000 % des ménages urbains dont le revenu est de 9 000 $ et plus par habitant. Selon les prévisions de l’OCDE et de la FAO, la consommation augmentera de 15 % de plus d’ici 2022, alors que le nombre de ménages dont le revenu par habitant est de 16 000 $ augmentera de 25 % de plus.

 

Cependant, tout comme la consommation de viande rouge en Chine a augmenté en fonction de la hausse du revenu par habitant, la même chose se produira ailleurs dans les pays en développement. Devant les occasions d’exportations qui se présenteront à mesure que les marchés émergents atteindront des revenus plus élevés, le plus grand défi pour le Canada pourrait être d’assurer sa présence sur ces marchés mondiaux en expansion.

Revenez consulter cette page pour en savoir plus sur les occasions et les défis que présente le commerce mondial.

 

Martha Roberts, spécialiste en recherche économique