Outlook for Farm Assets and Debt 2017-18

Farms in good position to handle economic shifts

A stronger Canadian dollar and higher interest rates may make the business of agriculture more challenging, but not necessarily put producers in a weaker financial position.

Our latest report, Outlook for Farm Assets and Debt 2017-18, gives you the inside scoop on the financial health of the Canadian agriculture industry. 

Download the report

Canadian farm debt is on the rise - is that cause for worry?

Canadian producers have recently taken on more debt. Farmland values are increasing, ag remains capital intensive and interest rates are at a historic low. That may sound worrying, but for the moment, there’s no cause for alarm.

How to determine your farm's financial fitness

Liquidity and solvency are two important measures to determine the health of the agriculture industry. They can also help you determine your farm's financial health. Watch these short videos to learn more about these ratios and then plug your own numbers into our calculators below.

Liquidity = Current ratio 

Solvency = Debt-to-asset ratio 

Current Ratio

$
$

Results

Current Ratio 0.00

A current ratio above 1 is ideal because it shows current assets are greater than current liabilities. But be mindful that a ratio which is too high can also suggest you aren't putting your money to work.


Debt-to-Assets Ratio

$
$

Results

Debt-to-Assets Ratio 0.00

A lower debt-to-asset ratio brings flexibility to an operation if it has to withstand unexpected challenges, or to seize opportunities that arise in the marketplace (such as expansion, diversification, etc.).

Perspectives concernant les actifs et la dette agricoles pour 2017-2018

L’agriculture pourra faire face aux fluctuations économiques

Un dollar canadien vigoureux et des taux d’intérêt plus élevés pourraient poser des défis au secteur de l’agriculture, mais ils n’affaibliront pas forcément la situation financière des producteurs.

Notre dernier rapport Perspectives concernant les actifs et la dette agricoles pour 2017-2018 vous présente un aperçu exclusif de la santé financière de l’industrie agricole canadienne. 

Télécharger le rapport

La dette agricole canadienne est en hausse  doit-on s’en inquiéter?

La dette des producteurs canadiens a récemment augmenté. La valeur des terres agricoles grimpe, l’agriculture demeure une industrie à forte densité de capital et les taux d’intérêt sont toujours extrêmement bas d’un point de vue historique. Cela peut sembler inquiétant pour le moment mais il n’y a pas lieu de s’alarmer.

Comment déterminer la santé financière de votre exploitation agricole

La liquidité et la solvabilité sont deux mesures importantes pour déterminer la santé de l’industrie agricole. Elles peuvent également vous aider à évaluer la santé financière de votre exploitation agricole. Visionnez ces courtes vidéos afin de vous familiariser avec ces ratios, puis entrez vos propres données dans nos calculateurs ci-dessous.

Liquidité = ratio de fonds de roulement

Liquidité = ratio de fonds de roulement

Ratio du fonds de roulement

$
$

Résultats

Ratio du fonds de roulement 0.00

Un ratio du fonds de roulement supérieur à 1 est un ratio idéal, parce qu'il signifie que l'actif à court terme est supérieur au passif à court terme. Plus ce ratio est élevé, plus la position de liquidité de l'entreprise est solide. Mais il faut être prudent : un ratio trop élevé peut également suggérer que vous n'investissez pas suffisamment dans votre exploitation.


Ratio d'endettement

$
$

Résultats

Ratio d'endettement 0.00

Un ratio d'endettement faible procure à une exploitation la flexibilité nécessaire pour affronter les défis imprévus ou saisir les occasions qui se présentent dans le marché (comme prendre de l'expansion, se diversifier, etc.).