3 reasons why Canadian food manufacturing is thriving

  • Oct 08, 2019

Food manufacturing is an important part of the Canadian economy. 2016 census data shows about 240,000 jobs in food manufacturing, generating about 103 billion dollars in sales in 2018. A vibrant sector is critical to the success of other industries across the entire agri-food supply chain. We explore in figures a few interesting facts about the economics of the food manufacturing in Canada. 

1. Food manufacturing is resilient to economic downturns

Food manufacturing sales (blue line in Figure 1) have been growing steadily at a 2.3% annual average rate since 1992 compared to 1.8% for all manufacturing sales.

It’s remarkable how resilient the food manufacturing sector has been. The share of food manufacturing in all manufacturing sales (orange line in Figure 1) shows a sudden jump between 2008 and 2009: as sales in all manufacturing sectors plummeted during the recession, those food manufacturing continued to grow.

The demand for food doesn’t decline significantly when income drops, but the demand for other manufactured products is very sensitive to the strength of the economy. The overall manufacturing industry never recovered to its pre-recession level while food manufacturing sales continue to represent about 15% of all manufacturing in Canada.

Figure 1: Food manufacturing sales and share of food manufacturing in all manufacturing sales

Source: Statistics Canada table 16-10-0047

2. Canadian food manufacturers compete on the global food market

Canadian food manufacturers compete with foreign firms on the domestic and export markets. Canada has been a net exporter of food products since the early 1990s.

Figure 2 shows Canadian exports and imports of food for products categories that closely match food manufactures output. Between 1992 and 1994, Canada was a net importer of food products. Canadian food manufacturers benefited from the weakness in the Canadian dollar between 1994 and 2007 and Canada started growing a net food exporter position. With the rebound in the economy after 2008, exports and imports of food grew rapidly. Imports began to stagnate in 2016 and in 2018 Canada exported 6.7 billion dollars more food products than it imported.

Figure 2: Canadian imports and exports of food products

Source: Statistics Canada table 12-10-0120

Food products here are defined as the following NAPCS categories: animal feed, coffee and tea, dairy products, fruit and vegetable juices, intermediate food products, meat products, other food products, and prepared and packaged seafood products.

In sectors where Canadian manufactures have a revealed comparative advantage, Canada is a net exporter: meat products, animal feed, seafood products and intermediate food products. Notably, Canadian exports of meat products exceeded imports by 3.7 billion dollars.  Canadian food manufacturers face stiff competition in sectors where Canada is a net importer: dairy, coffee and tea and fruit and vegetable juices.

3. The food manufacturing sector is diverse

Food manufacturing sales in Canada are spread across many products. Figure 3 shows the distribution of food manufacturing sales in 2018. Dairy is the largest sector followed by animal slaughtering, starch and vegetable fat and oil, poultry processing, and animal food.

Figure 3: Food manufacturing sales in 2018 (total $103 billion)

Source: Statistics Canada table 16-10-0047

Takeaways

Canada’s food manufacturing sector is resilient to downturns in the economy, a significant contributor to Canada’s export position and a diverse industry.

On their own, these characteristics are not out of the ordinary, but their combination provides strength to the food manufacturing industry. Food manufacturers possess the know-how and resources to meet the growing global demand for food but must also innovate to fight off competitive pressures from foreign manufacturers looking to grow their export presence to Canada.  


Sébastien Pouliot
Principal Agricultural Economist

Sébastien is a Principal Agricultural Economist at Farm Credit Canada. Prior to joining FCC in 2019, Sébastien was an associate professor of economics at Iowa State University. He has also been involved as an expert in trade disputes at the World Trade Organization, notably supporting Canada and Mexico over U.S. country of origin labelling (COOL) for beef and pork. Sébastien has a PhD in agricultural and resource economics from the University of California, Davis, and has been an editor of the Canadian Journal of Agricultural Economics since 2016.

Les trois raisons qui expliquent la prospérité du secteur canadien de la fabrication d’aliments

La fabrication d’aliments est un secteur d’activité important pour l’économie canadienne. En effet, il représente environ 240 000 emplois selon les données du recensement de 2016, et a généré des ventes d’environ 103 milliards de dollars en 2018. Un secteur dynamique est crucial à la réussite des autres industries dans l’ensemble de la chaîne d’approvisionnement agroalimentaire. Appuyons-nous sur quelques chiffres pour explorer des faits intéressants au sujet de l’économie du secteur de la fabrication d’aliments au Canada.

1. Le secteur de la fabrication d’aliments résiste bien aux ralentissements économiques

Les ventes du secteur de la fabrication d’aliments (ligne bleue dans la figure 1) affichent une croissance moyenne constante de 2,3 % par année depuis 1992, comparativement à 1,8 % pour celles de l’ensemble des produits fabriqués.

Force est de constater la grande résilience du secteur de la fabrication d’aliments. Ainsi, de 2008 à 2009, la proportion des ventes d’aliments fabriqués a connu une montée soudaine par rapport à l’ensemble des produits fabriqués (ligne orange dans la figure 1). En effet, alors que les ventes de l’ensemble des secteurs de fabrication ont dégringolé durant la récession, celles de la fabrication d’aliments ont continué d’augmenter.

Bien que la demande d’aliments ne diminue pas considérablement lorsque les revenus chutent, la demande d’autres produits fabriqués est très sensible à la vigueur de l’économie. L’ensemble de l’industrie de la fabrication n’a jamais retrouvé le niveau observé avant la récession, alors que les ventes d’aliments fabriqués continuent de représenter environ 15 % de tous les produits fabriqués au Canada.

Figure 1 : Ventes d’aliments fabriqués et proportion de l’industrie de la fabrication d’aliments, toutes catégories confondues

Source : Tableau 16-10-0047 de Statistique Canada

2. Les fabricants d’aliments canadiens rivalisent avec la concurrence sur le marché mondial de l’alimentation

Les fabricants d’aliments canadiens rivalisent avec des sociétés étrangères sur les marchés nationaux et les marchés d’exportations. Le Canada est un exportateur net de produits alimentaires depuis le début des années 1990.

La figure 2 illustre les exportations et importations canadiennes d’aliments pour les catégories de produits qui correspondent de près à la production des fabricants d’aliments. De 1992 à 1994, le Canada était un importateur net de produits alimentaires. Les fabricants d’aliments canadiens ont profité de la faiblesse du dollar canadien entre 1994 et 2007, et le Canada a commencé à se positionner à titre d’exportateur net d’aliments. Avec le rebond de l’économie enregistré après 2008, les exportations et les importations d’aliments ont rapidement augmenté. Les importations ont commencé à stagner en 2016, et en 2018, le Canada a exporté 6,7 milliards de dollars de produits alimentaires de plus qu’il en a importés.

Figure 2 : Importations et exportations canadiennes de produits alimentaires

Source : Tableau 12-10-0120 de Statistique Canada

La définition des aliments cités est celle de catégories suivantes du SCPAN : aliments pour animaux, café et thé, produits laitiers, jus de fruits et de légumes, produits alimentaires intermédiaires, produits de viande, autres produits alimentaires et poissons et fruits de mer préparés et emballés.

Le Canada est un exportateur net dans les secteurs où les fabricants canadiens ont un avantage comparatif révélé : les produits de viande, les aliments pour animaux, les poissons et fruits de mer ainsi que les produits alimentaires intermédiaires. Fait à souligner, les exportations de produits de viande canadiens ont dépassé de 3,7 milliards de dollars les importations. Les fabricants d’aliments canadiens font face à une concurrence féroce dans les catégories où le Canada est un importateur net, soit ceux des produits laitiers, du café et du thé ainsi que des jus de fruits et de légumes.

3. Le secteur de la fabrication d’aliments est diversifié

Les ventes du secteur canadien de la fabrication d’aliments sont réparties dans de nombreux groupes d’aliments. La figure 3 montre la répartition des ventes du secteur en 2018. Les produits laitiers représentent le premier sous-secteur en importance, suivi de l’abattage de bétail, de l’amidonnerie et de la fabrication de graisses et d’huiles végétales, de la transformation de la volaille et des aliments pour animaux. 

Figure 3 : Ventes du secteur de la fabrication d’aliments en 2018 (total de 103 milliards de dollars)

Source : Tableau 16-10-0047 de Statistique Canada

Faits à retenir

Le secteur canadien de la fabrication d’aliments résiste bien aux ralentissements économiques, contribue de façon significative aux exportations canadiennes et est très diversifié.

À elles seules, ces caractéristiques ne détonnent pas, mais lorsqu’on les combine, elles expliquent toute la vigueur de l’industrie de la fabrication d’aliments. Les fabricants de produits alimentaires possèdent le savoir-faire et les ressources nécessaires pour répondre à la demande mondiale croissante d’aliments. Toutefois, ils doivent aussi innover pour répondre aux pressions concurrentielles exercées par les fabricants étrangers qui cherchent à accroître leurs activités d’exportation vers le marché canadien.


Sébastien Pouliot
Économiste agricole principal

Sébastien Pouliot est économiste agricole principal à Financement agricole Canada. Avant de se joindre à FAC en 2019, M. Pouliot était professeur agrégé d’économie à la Iowa State University. Il est aussi intervenu à titre d’expert dans le cadre de différends commerciaux à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce; il a notamment appuyé le Canada et le Mexique lorsque ces deux pays se sont opposés à la politique américaine d’étiquetage du pays d’origine (ÉPO) sur les produits de bœuf et de porc. M. Pouliot détient un doctorat en économie agricole et des ressources de la University of California, à Davis, et il est rédacteur en chef pour la Revue canadienne d’agroéconomie depuis 2016.