Board of Directors

Dale Johnston
Chairperson, Director since June 23, 2011

Dale Johnston resides in Ponoka County, Alberta, where he owns and operates a mixed operation. He brings more than four decades of experience in farming and an extensive career in public service to FCC. Mr. Johnston served as Member of Parliament from 1993 to 2006 as well as Vice-Chair of the Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs, and Vice-Chair of the Standing Committee on Human Resources Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities. He was also a Member of the Board of Internal Trade, Chief Opposition Whip, from 2004 to 2006.

Before his career in Parliament, Mr. Johnston was councillor and reeve for the County of Ponoka and Chairman of the County of Ponoka's Board of Education from 1989 to 1992. He served as a Member of the Board of Directors at Ponoka General Hospital from 1986 to 1992.

Mr. Johnston is a strong supporter of 4-H and continues to be involved in a variety of organizations, including Rural Crime Watch, Loyal Order of the Moose and Royal Canadian Legion Branch #66.

Michael Hoffort, P.Ag.
Director since July 1, 2014

Michael Hoffort joined Farm Credit Canada in 1988 and has served FCC in various positions of increasing responsibility, including the key role of Relationship Manager where he directly served FCC’s customers. He went on to engineer the growth and modernization of FCC's Customer Service Centre. He gained extensive experience in operations, including holding the positions of Vice-President of Partners and Channels and Vice-President of Prairie Operations. In these roles, he led significant portfolio growth across multiple lines of business, while maintaining a strong focus on both the customer and employee experience. As Chief Risk Officer, Michael was accountable for leading the new Enhanced Risk Management Program to align FCC's risk management practices with those of federally-regulated financial institutions in Canada. In July of 2014, Michael was appointed to the position of President and Chief Executive Officer.

Michael holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in agriculture economics from the University of Saskatchewan, and a Professional Agrologist designation from the Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists. He is an active volunteer in his community and sits on the board of STARS Air Ambulance.

Sylvie Cloutier
Director since April 11, 2012

Sylvie Cloutier, of Bromont, Quebec, has served as the President and Chief Executive Officer of Quebec’s Council of Food Processing and Consumer Products since 2010. Prior to this role, Ms. Cloutier served the Council as Vice President of Communications and Public Affairs from 2003 to 2010. Between 1999 and 2003, Ms. Cloutier was Vice President of Communications for the Canadian Council of Grocery Distributors as well as Executive Director of the Canadian Grand Prix New Product Awards. Ms. Cloutier also worked for global public relations company Hill+Knowlton Strategies Canada, as well as the federal government. Ms. Cloutier holds a BA in Communications from the University of Ottawa.

Jane Halford
Director since December 15, 2014

Jane Halford, FCA, ICD.D, is a co-founder of BOLT Transition, which focuses on supporting leadership transitions in organizations. Born and raised in Edmonton, Jane graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Alberta before earning her CA designation. Her leadership positions in the accounting profession include senior manager at Grant Thornton Chartered Accountants LLP, Director of Practice Review and subsequently Chief Executive Officer for the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta, and Executive Director of the Chartered Accountants Education Foundation. Jane is committed to serving her community. In addition to her role on the board of Farm Credit Canada, Jane is a board member of the University of Alberta, Citadel Theatre and the United Way of the Alberta Capital Region, and she also serves as Past President of the University of Alberta Alumni Association and an ex-officio member of the University of Alberta Senate.

Doris Priddle
Director since November 26, 2012

Doris Priddle gained an extensive background in agriculture as the owner and manager of various farm operations in Ontario and Alberta, and from having held various positions within the Ontario and Alberta governments, including the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, the Alberta Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, the Solicitor General of Alberta, and the Alberta Ministry of Economic Trade and Development. Ms. Priddle holds a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Guelph, where she was a recipient of the Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers Award.

Jason Skinner, P.Ag.
Director since February 12, 2009

Jason Skinner of Wilkie, Saskatchewan brings 20 years of experience in marketing, policy and management in agriculture to the FCC Board. For the past 10 years, he has been CEO of North West Terminal Ltd., a farmer-shareholder owned inland grain terminal in Saskatchewan. Prior to this, he worked for the Canadian Wheat Board in various roles, culminating in Marketing Manager for the Asia-Pacific region. Mr. Skinner is a founding member and marketing advisor at Skinners' Jade Farms Ltd., a crop production and marketing operation in Wilkie. A member of the Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists and the Canadian Agricultural Economics and Farm Management Society, he is a director of the Inland Terminal Association of Canada as well as former director of Alliance Grain Terminal Ltd. in Vancouver. Mr. Skinner holds an M.Sc. in Agricultural Economics, a B.S.A. in Agricultural Economics and a diploma in Crop Production Management, all from the University of Saskatchewan.

If you require high-resolution photographs for your article or publication, please contact:
Éva Larouche
Communication Consultant
Farm Credit Canada